Johnson 5HP 4 stroke water circulation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Johnson 5HP 4 stroke water circulation

when I start my motor in a barrell of water the pressure initially through the peehole is good and the motor is going fine
    then after about a minute the peehole dries up to a trickle and I have to shut the motor off to prevent overheating
    I have serviced the motor, engine oil.gear oil, replacement impeller and thermostat but still have this problem
    I removed the gear box and water pump and attached a hose to the water intake pipe and all is well i.e. the motor runs perfect and there is a continual flow of water through the peehole and exhaust
    I think I caused this problem when I replaced the impeller
    is there a gasket between the water pump cover and the housing it sits on
    while I am a novice to outboards I do have mechanical ability
    however I cant solve this problem
    help

First off, if you ran it dry, it may have damage impeller after installing it. If not, does the exhaust go through the prop on your motor, or just the back of the midsection? I'm not familiar with 4 strokes, or your motor. However, some exhaust through prop motors have grommets that seal the exhaust and water Chambers. If those grommets are damaged, exhaust gases can interfere with water pump pulling water.
    Another possibility (again, not familiar with your motor), if you have a by-pass valve in the water passages, it may be stuck in the open position, where when your thermostat opens the by-pass should close some to allow full flow to go through cooling passages. Generally the by-pass allows water to go directly to exhaust, unless thermostat opens.

Boats.net has changed their web page for parts, and am unable to see parts diagrams on any motors, so I am unable to verify what parts are on your motor. Best bet is reference your service manual for your motor.