Buy Johnson Outboard Parts

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Prop Choice & Other Questions - Johnson 20 HP (Model 20R73)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Prop Choice & Other Questions - Johnson 20 HP (Model 20R73)

Hello,

I recently purchased a 1973 Johnson 20 hp (Model 20R73) and will be using it on a 14ft Alumacraft. We will be loaded with probably 600 lbs of gear and people and the boat weights about 200. I noticed the prop with the motor is pretty beat-up.

Can someone recommend how to determine what prop I should get to replace this one? I don't want anything fancy (SS), just a basic prop to push me and my two kids around the lake fishing. I think this is a 9", 3 blade but I have no idea of pitch.

Also, I am pretty new to power-boating (previously sailed) and would apprecaiate any recommendations on operating the motor. The motor runs well at all throttle settings and I already bought a Sierra Impeller kit to replace the "water pump" as a precaution. Any other recommendations? The motor manual says I have to run at least 90 octane. I am using Penzoil 2-cycle oil at a 50:1 ratio per the prior owner/manual. Do I need to add any additives to the fuel due to the ethanol?

Thank you for any help you might offer,
    Robert

The standard prop for that motor is a 9x10 (0383629). If you are not having problems otherer than condition. I would replace it with the same. There is a lower pitch available P/N: 0763587.
    Regards
    Boats.net
    Johnson Outboard Parts

Comment

fuel pump woes